Art Sheds Workshop: Ceramic Tactile Pots with Kirsti Brown

Visitor Interaction, Workshops

As part of the Art Sheds exhibition, artist-led workshops were scheduled by VG&M Education Officer Kirsty Hall.  The second of these focused on ceramics.  We had a quick chat with the artist who took the class, ceramicist Kirsti Brown to hear about how she produces and teaches such a workshop.

Ceramicist Kirsti Brown

Ceramicist Kirsti Brown

What part of the Art Sheds inspired the themes of your ceramic workshops?

The workshops were inspired by the theme of landscape found in some of the University’s collection that Susan Forsyth had curated. These included a small Whistler sketch, a Constable print and the large map of Liverpool. I was also inspired by the participatory theme of the Art Sheds, involving the public to take part in Art.

What teaching techniques did you use in this class?

Each session began with a talk about the project and a look at the exhibition to give the workshop a context. Having the materials prepared I would then demonstrate the main techniques, further demonstrations on techniques took place as the workshop progressed. People want to start making as soon as possible and I find re- grouping often works better than a very long demonstration at the beginning. Encouraging participants to take the idea in their own way so is something that I strongly promote and once everyone has started I talk to them on an individual basis to draw out their ideas and suggest ways in which that can be achieved.

Pots3

How do you approach different levels of skill in workshops like yours?

I plan session that will suit all skill levels. I have taught sessions to children, adults and adults with learning difficulties throughout my career so can draw on past experiences when planning as well as delivering. The techniques I use for workshops are quite straightforward to achieve and the challenge is to work with the participants and help them to develop their ideas to take those techniques further.

Can I take part in your workshops if I am a first timer?

Yes, I love it when people haven’t had any experience of working with clay and then discover what a fantastic material it is to work with. It was once an integral part of school life, but I am finding that many younger people have had little or no experience of working in clay.

What do you think of the Art Sheds (either coming from the view of the past real sheds or the present exhibition) as a teaching/learning environment?

The environment was excellent and I’m glad I was able to run the workshops in the exhibition space. Not only could the paintings in the exhibition be used for reference and inspiration, but also engaging in an art practice within the exhibition space emphasized the idea behind the Art Sheds project to both participants and public alike. I loved the idea of the exhibition being an Art School, linking it to the original School of Art. (On a personal note, my parents met at Liverpool College of Art in the late 1950’s so I wouldn’t even be here without that history!)

In a practical sense the room was light, bright with a calm atmosphere helping to inspire the participants. The museum staff were really helpful and everything was in place for each of my workshops.

The finished pots

The finished pots

You can book Kirsti for a workshop by contacting her via the contact form on her website

If you would like to attend one of our upcoming FREE Art Sheds artist-led workshops, there will be three more coming up in October.  Please visit our website for details.

Leave a comment